Defender Council

The defender council, appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the governor, consists of five members.  The council consists of at least one member from each of the counties of the state (Honolulu, Kaua’i, Maui & Hawai’i).  The chairperson of the council is selected by its members.  Each member serves without pay and is reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred while attending meetings and while in the discharge of each member’s responsibilities.  The defender council serves as the governing body of the Office of the Public Defender.  One of the primary duties of the council is the appointment of the State Public Defender.

Crystal K. Glendon:  Chair (Honolulu)
Stanton C. Oshiro:   Co Chair (Hawai’i Island)
Setsuko R. Gormley: (Maui)

Council minutes link